NOAA and CIMSS colleagues receive prestigious awards

November 11, 2021 | Jean Phillips

This fall, four of our NOAA and Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies colleagues — Jordan Gerth, Jeffrey Key, James Kossin and Scott Lindstrom — have been recognized with NOAA awards for their distinguished careers, pioneering advancements, collaboration, knowledge sharing and service, and superior performance. Their work strengthens NOAA’s commitment to science, service and stewardship as well as the Wisconsin Idea that highlights the university’s commitment to public service.

Jordan Gerth, physical scientist NOAA National Weather Service and UW-Madison honorary fellow.
Credit: Jeff Miller/UW-Madison

Jordan Gerth
NOAA Bronze Medal Award

For development and implementation of the GOES-17 Advanced Baseline Imager cooling timeline, thereby enabling its sole operation as GOES-West.

The Department of Commerce Bronze Medal is the highest honor award granted by the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere. It recognizes federal employees for superior performance and is awarded to individuals, groups (or teams), and organizations.

Jeffrey Key (middle-front), branch chief, Advanced Satellite Products Branch, National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS), with NOAA colleagues from left to right, Andrew Heidinger, Tim Schmit, Yinghui Liu, Mark Kulie, and Michael Pavolonis.
Credit: Eric Verbeten

Jeffrey R. Key
NOAA Distinguished Career Award

For extraordinary contributions to the field of satellite remote sensing of the polar regions.

The NOAA Distinguished Career Award honors sustained contributions and a body of work, and recognizes significant accomplishments across all NOAA program areas and functions that have resulted in long-term benefits to the bureau’s mission and strategic goals.

James Kossin, University of Wisconsin-Madison honorary fellow
Credit: Bryce Richter/UW-Madison

James P. Kossin
NOAA Administrator’s Award

For pioneering advancements in the understanding of hurricanes through the publication and communication of ground-breaking research and innovation.

The NOAA Administrator’s Award may go to an individual or a group, in recognition of significant contributions to NOAA programs.

Scott Lindstrom, CIMSS scientist (front-left)
Credit: Tim Schmit

Scott Lindstrom
2021 NESDIS Collaboration Award

For excellence in collaboration, communications and knowledge sharing through satellite remote sensing training that supports NOAA’s mission by extending its reach to under-represented youth, international users, and the National Weather Service.

The NESDIS Collaboration Award recognizes a group or individual for demonstrated excellence in the areas of cooperative and joint collaboration across programs and offices, communications, and knowledge sharing and strategy to further the NESDIS mission.

Unseen Hero Award, Joint Polar Satellite System Program Office

For outstanding service and training opportunities created for JPSS data users.